sparkling flakes

BECAUSE SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO CREATE YOUR OWN SUNSHINE

Ed Sheeran

X-tra, Zürich, 22 November 2012 

Ed Sheeran’s second gig in town was sold out in minutes. My ‘concert hopping’ companion and I were deliberating for months as to whether or not we should try our luck and just go to the venue to see if we can get last minute tickets. It worked! Score!

Ed Sheeran’s voice caught my attention the moment I heard his debut single ‘The A-Team’.  He then started promoting his debut album on the television shows and radio stations I am always tuned into so he followed me wherever I went. That voice catches me every time and so does his melody. A strongly talented singer/songwriter, beatboxer and guitarist, Ed Sheeran infuses his music style with a distinctive and  eclectic blend of acoustic pop, folk, and hip-hop. His lyrics surely cannot question why this 21 year-old (yes – 21!) beat Adele and Florence and the Machine to the 2012 Ivor Novello Award.

I could go on forever but I won’t. The concert was fantastic. He gave us his undivided attention for the evening and the interaction and singing with the crowd gave this gig a very personal touch. He was a one man band with his guitar, a guitar pedal, two mircophones and some pretty awesome beat boxing. His music has an element of R&B and neo-soul which adds more individuality to his sound. He sang one song completely unplugged; the room was in total silence throughout and the roar of applause afterwards gave me goosebumps. .  

He sang a duet with his support act ‘Passenger’ (UK) -stunning harmonies! He also sang a tune collaborated with Jamie Woon and boy it was refreshing. It took me back to the day he freestyled ‘Night Air’ on BBC 1Xtra.

If you are a fan, it is definitely worth checking him out on tour. He is touring until next September; I expect a pause after that so don’t miss out on a night of talent, a beautiful tender voice with control and melody, great music and great ambience.

Cocktail of the night:- Sauvignon Rouge (cocktails are for weekends only!)

Check out his website (great graphics!) :- edsheeran.com

Tune: (favourite performances)

  • Give me Love
  • You Need Me But I Don’t Need You
  • Baby Bump
  • The ‘A’ Team (encore)
 
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2012 by in music and tagged , , , .

my tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

What’s been going on?

November 2012
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
