sparkling flakes

BECAUSE SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO CREATE YOUR OWN SUNSHINE

sparkling scents

The last time I was in NYC my very good friend invited me to his friend’s 50th birthday party. Carrying ageist pre-jugement, I hesitated at first as I wanted to hit the town and paint it red but, of course I only cared about spending time with my friend; where we were would not matter. Furthermore, it’s NYC – anything can happen! So I hit the party donning my cute white lace Zara dress – my favorite best buy at the time. We went to his friend’s penthouse apartment near the Flat Iron building. As the elevator to the apartment opened, the first thing I noticed were the two dashing, extremely toned topless male ‘welcome waiters’ with a flute of Veuve Cliquot ready for me. I then (after some subtle gaping at the welcome waiters) noticed a beautiful candle scent in the apartment. It was a capturing rich spicy fragrance with a slight hint of sweetness. One of the first things I asked the gorgeous host and his boyfriend was about what was burning so sweetly. It was a Jo Malone candle – Pomegranate Noir scent – divine! He informed me that it cost about US$400 so my mind closed straightaway at the thought of purchasing it for myself. I could not do that to my credit card. I did however remember the scent and I only realised this when I was having brunch with my girlfriend. I asked her what perfume she was wearing and it was the Pomegranate Noir Jo Malone cologne! I yelped at the thought of being able to wear it as a perfume.

After our lunch I went straight to my nearest Jo Malone kiosk. I ran for the Pomegranate Noir scent; it smelt just as intoxicating. I looked around Jo Malone for about an hour sampling all the cologne scents. Their scents have very acquired taste, for each individual to choose upon so naturally, you may love one scent but hate the other. My three picks were the English Pear and Freesia, Pomegranate Noir and Nectarine Blossom and Honey colognes. Jo Malone can get rather pricey so I opted for the English Pear and Freesia shower gel as my first purchase/me-gift. My shower experience with my ‘me-gift’ was gorgeous. I was in my own personal Spa and I could smell the scent on my skin all day!

A week later I just had to have the Pomegranate Noir and Nectarine Blossom and Honey colognes, especially after visiting the store almost every day. I even learnt that you can wear one scent on its own or you can mix the scents together! I compromised with my guilty conscience by purchasing the smaller 30ml bottle of each. Jo Malone scents are enveloping and yummy! The most distinctive thing about them is that you do not need to apply too much of the cologne and it remains subtle but distinctive, fresh and sultry. Yep – all four adjectives! When all is said and done, I guess you are paying for the quality…?

Here is the link to the website: www.jomalone.com/

It is simple, sophisticated and straightforward. Check out the perfumery though and… smell away! It is much more of an exciting experience.

Lovely! xo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2012 by in beauty, splurge and tagged , , , , .

my tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

What’s been going on?

November 2012
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
