sparkling flakes

BECAUSE SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO CREATE YOUR OWN SUNSHINE

a little sparkle for the girls

M3EW44I used to shy away from red lipstick as I was ridiculously paranoid about my lips looking humongous wearing it. Since taking advice from Tyra Banks to embrace our awesome and ‘flawsome’ body features, I started to experiment with several shades of red. The lipsticks however were either too glossy or the red did not seem to match with my complexion. b1427facbb5af4788b0d1dd6717699e8When Rita Ora first came on the scene I noticed that her signature red lip colour was strikingly ‘fierce’ so to say. The colour was gorgeous and I noticed that it did not have that shiny gloss to it; it always tweaks her look to give it an edge. I had to have a similar colour so I went to a MAC store and rummaged through their collection of matte lipsticks. I actually found THE ONE – MAC Retro Matte – Ruby Woo, or as I now call it Ruby Woohoo! It is just one of the most prettiest red lip colours I have come across and I have to say it looks great once applied.

New ImageI wear it more often that I thought I would and I also enjoy the yummy vanilla/caramel subtle scent it has. Additonally, the colour is long lasting which is great but keep an eye on your lips throughout the day to ensure it still applied evenly.

It is a matte thus slightly dry so I always prime my lips in La Prairie Cellular Lip Line Renewal Concentrate or a very thin layer of lip balm. I find that if you apply it with no base, it can cake and lump slightly on the lips. So, gorgeous ladies out there, if you do not have this gorgeous ‘lippy’ already and want a vintage pin-up look or simply want to add spark to your look, Ruby Woo is worth a place in your make-up bag. You will not disappointed.

Check out other reviews on the website too.

4 comments on “a little sparkle for the girls

  1. ashley
    December 4, 2012

    I am freaking obsessed with Ruby Woo- gorgeous finish and it makes your teeth look blindingly white. By the way, love the picture- it looks so good on you!

  2. pearlsandparis
    December 4, 2012

    looks great! love that color

  3. Spitzbuberei
    January 30, 2013

    looks amazing on you. I’ve always been cautious when it ame to red lipstick but you’ve given me more reason to try it out!!! 🙂

    • sparklingflakes
      January 30, 2013

      Too cool. It’s really cool and I think the matte effect makes all the difference. Good in brightening up a look too. Soo glad you might venture. Gib mir Bescheid…. xx 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2012 by in a girl for all seasons, beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , .

my tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

What’s been going on?

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
