sparkling flakes

BECAUSE SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO CREATE YOUR OWN SUNSHINE

sparkling tips

I am not the biggest fan of rushing home after a stressful, twelve-hour day at work and then preceding to slave over a hot stove to make dinner. I do tend to ‘faff around’ in the kitchen but these are the times when I try to think up of a quick recipes that will not occupy my time, especially when I am exhausted. Just the other day, I came back from a long day at work feeling sorry for myself, stroppy and not at all in the mood to cook. I then reluctantly dragged myself to the kitchen and improvised with some ingredients and spices in our cupboards and fridge, which actually turned out to be pretty delicious! I made some flavoured rice and pork chops and this only took 30 minutes.

photo

So in case anyone needs a non-Jamie Oliver related tip for a quick meal to make in 30 minutes after a long tiring day, here is a wee tip you may find useful:

• Rice:-

I simply added uncooked rice, tomato puree, chicken and vegetable stock, seasoning, sweet corn, chopped onions, chives and garlic into our rice cooker and turned it on. You have to stir sporadically but the rest of the work is done by the rice cooker in twenty minutes.

• Pork Chops (or chicken breast):-

I thinned the steaks by cutting them horizontally in two, seasoned them with my preferred spices and then fried them together with some chopped onion for three minutes on each side and they were done!

Simple, quick and tasty.

xo

4 comments on “sparkling tips

  1. thejennyevolution
    January 18, 2013

    This looks yummy! Please share this in a new Linky Party –Weekend Kitchen Creations at http://www.weekendkitchencreations.blogspot.com. Please join us, share your delicious creation, build more traffic for your blog and get other scrumptious ideas.

    • sparklingflakes
      January 19, 2013

      Thank you so much for the link. I have added my recipe and there are many great recipes there too! 🙂

  2. Cassidy
    January 25, 2013

    Sounds great! I get tired of plain old boring rice, so I’ll have to try this. (pinned)
    cass-eats.blogspot.com

    • sparklingflakes
      January 28, 2013

      Oh great, thank you Cassidy. YOur blog is fabulous, I tried out the cheesy quesadillas over the weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2013 by in treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

my tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

What’s been going on?

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
