sparkling flakes

BECAUSE SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO CREATE YOUR OWN SUNSHINE

sparkling locks

photoThis post is directed to all the ladies out there who wear hair extensions and hair weaves like I do. Currently I wear my hair under a sew-in weave as intend to grow it long, straighten it and then wear it naturally once it has grown to my desired length. The hair extensions I prefer and would really like to recommend are the ‘Virgin Brazilian Human Hair’ extensions, because of the natural and authentic look and feel.

My sister just had her new weave sewn in with this hair and she has been raving about it. She also looks FABULOUS despite her always looking that way in my eyes!

The price of the hair varies from £30 to £120 per packet depending on the desired length. I appreciate the fact that you can wash it, expose it to heat and style it on a daily basis, unlike synthetic hair extensions.

Brazilian Virgin Hair

Brazilian Virgin Hair

You can also reuse the the hair for up to a year depending on how well you look after and maintain it. My sister also discovered and mentioned Malaysian, Mongolian, Indian and Peruvian hair which has an even higher quality than Brazilian hair. The feel is pure silk! Absolutely beautiful but much pricier. In this case you definitely have to pay more for a stronger aesthetic and long-lasting quality.

I live in Switzerland and I am lucky to have a wonderful hairdresser to weave my hair however the hair maintenance tips, ideas, styles and cosmetics are not as plentiful as they are say in the U.K. or the U.S. After four years’ experience wearing weaves, research and with a lot of my sister’s help, we have been able to formulate our own ‘Weave Maintenance tips’. There are certainly many tips out there if you take the time to look but just in case anyone has not found the perfect ‘tried and tested’ guide yet, maybe you can take a leaf out of our book! I also invite readers to share any other useful weave maintenance tips!

My sister looking beautiful with her Brazilian Virgin Hair weave.

My sister looking beautiful with her Brazilian Virgin Hair weave.

1. Once the hair weave is completed, get the actual hair extensions  cut and styled by a hairdresser who is qualified to work with and cut the hair you have chosen to wear. You will not regret it even if it costs a little extra on top of having the actual weave done. 

2. Shampoo and condition the hair extensions once a week. I sometimes have to wash them every other day in order to rejuvenate my curls. My sister recommends Organix Moroccan Argan Oil products. Personally, I am a fan of  Aussie hair products, but I will try my sister’s recommendation becuase the argan oil specifically maintains the moisture in and the softness of the hair. **N.B. When shampooing avoid washing the tracks, i.e. your natural hair which will be braided in cornrow braids into which the weave is sewn.

Organix_Moroccan_Oil

3. Brush with a wide toothed comb to avoid damaging the hair. Ensure you use heat protection spray prior to blow-drying and avoid or minimalise the use of heat to style it.

Should you wish to curl it, try sleeping with the hair in braids, bendy rollers or Bantu knots instead.

4. Spray the hair daily with leave-in conditioner or Organix Moroccan Argan Penetrating oil as recommended by my sister.

5. Do an intensive conditioning on the hair once a fortnight.

4. Wrap your hair when sleeping. I use either a silk head scarf or a pair of laddered tights that I cannot wear anymore.

6. Change your tracks i.e. the cornrow braid under your weave every six weeks in order to keep your natural hair healthy, clean and knot-free.

Should the above tips be followed, you should be able to reuse your Virgin Brazilian hair extensions for up to a year. I hope this post comes in useful fellow weave wearers out there.  Feedback is very welcome.

Thank you sis for your help with this post! xo

One comment on “sparkling locks

  1. dermatend review
    July 8, 2013

    Hello to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web site,
    and your views are nice in favor of new people.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2013 by in a girl for all seasons, beauty, splurge and tagged , , , , , , , , .

my tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

What’s been going on?

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
