sparkling flakes

BECAUSE SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO CREATE YOUR OWN SUNSHINE

sparkling tips

Cucumber Salad!

gurkensalats

It was my boyfriend’s turn to cook Sunday dinner over the weekend and he made his mouthwatering homemade lasagna.

Most of the dishes boyfy makes are either passed down from his grandmother and mother or are recreated from childhood memories of his favourite meals. He holds the recipes passed down from his grandmother closest to his heart and it is always very interesting and enjoyable learning about them because of the Polish and German traditions behind them. Anyhoo, boyfy informed me that he would be making a cucumber salad to accompany the lasagna which I kind of turned my nose up at like a spoilt brat.gurkensalat His grandmother always makes this salad with meals when we visit but I have never tried it despite cucumber being one of my favourite types of fruit.  I am sure it is my Zimbabwean roots that makes my palate slightly simplistic but I prefer it sliced and served as it is with no complications. Luckily for me, due to girlfriend obligations I tried boyfy’s version of the salad this time around and I could not eat enough of it. It is apparently German, known simply as ‘Gurkensalat’, is very simple and quick to make and it is delicious. It has made me start hunting around find more cucumber recipes to try out.

The ingredients are as follows:-

– Cucumber

– Sour cream

– Pepper (The pepper gives the dish an awesome kick!)

– Paprika

– Chives and/or Dill

Optional

– A splash of white wine vinegar to add an extra kick.

You simply slice the cucumber, add the remaining ingredients liberally according to your preferred taste and then voila, another simple yet delicious treat. Yum!

One comment on “sparkling tips

  1. Spitzbuberei
    January 30, 2013

    im sooo tryin this 😀

Leave a Reply

my tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

What’s been going on?

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
