sparkling flakes

BECAUSE SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO CREATE YOUR OWN SUNSHINE

sparkling sounds – Ellie Goulding

eg_halcyon_orig_345My anticipation has been growing strong for one of my favourite electronic pop acts Ellie Goulding to visit Zurich. I am so glad that ‘my’ city was part of her tour; I have been hypnotized by her sound, voice and music ever since I randomly purchased ‘Wish I Stayed’ in 2009 for free when iTunes released ‘An Introduction to Ellie Goulding’. She is now a permanent part of my music collection.

The concert took place in Härterei Club which never seems to carry the best sound, so it felt like Goulding needed some time to warm up to the audience and for the audience to warm up to her. The first half of the concert left us straining to hear her vocals, as the sound of the backing tracks, guitars, piano and drums often overwhelmed her voice. She would however would pull us back in by interacting with the audience and adding a personal touch by explaining the basis of her songs and music.

As the night ignited, Ellie was brilliant, throwing off sparks song after song. She was full of energy and she even gave us more spunk when she was banging her floor tom and drums with authentic passion for her music. The best moments were the stripped-down, acoustic and a capella moments where her vocals shone through; highlighting her intensity and her ability to control her delectable voice. It’s pure bliss listening to her soprano and falsetto without going off-key. Anything Can Happen was absolutely stunning and sounded perfect.

My mini view of the gorgeous Miss!

My mini view of the gorgeous Miss!

I admit I am biased but I recommend checking her out tour if you have not already seen her live. Everything she exudes in her music is exuded at her concert. It was sweet, bright, bubbly, dreamy, eclectic, soft but spunky, unique and explosive. She wraps her classic songwriting talent around electronic dance music and is also clever enough to give it a commercial edge. She is a goddess, a sweetheart and an inspiration.

Dragging one of my besties along!

Dragging one of my besties along!

Drink of the night – Not too fancy as I was being a good girl for once – Water and a Prosecco.

Sparkling performances

Halcyon

Figure 8

Salt Skin

Explosions

Guns And Horses (acoustic)

I Know You Care

Under The Sheets

Anything Could Happen

I Need Your Love (Encore)

Lights (Encore)

Leave a Reply

my tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

What’s been going on?

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
